En Normandie

August 25, 2011 § Leave a comment

Verneuil-sur-Avre 27130, France

Three days spent not working but wandering the French countryside in Normandy. I walked through small villages with beautiful and so old buildings-castles, cathedrals, homes, walls, bridges. I walked through fields and woods where I encountered cows, sheep, chickens, rabbits, hawks, horses, deer. I ate rabbit (from the farm) braised with new potatoes and mushrooms. I ate homemade applesauce with cinnamon. I ate chicken (from the farm) roasted with yellow squash and garlic and baby cauliflower. I drank hard apple cider fresh off the farm. I tasted freshly caught mussels and home-smoked salmon. I played with two happy farm dogs. I visited two local public libraries housed in the most beautiful buildings, centuries old. I walked in the rain. I picked fresh garden herbs and packed them in my bag and will roast vegetables with them today. I spoke only French for three full days-exhilarating and exhausting. I saw five farm cats. I visited a small museum specializing in glass and saw an inspiring exhibit of blown glass art. I lay in bed and watched lighning flash through a late night sky. I borrowed a car and drove through woods and stopped in a small town to walk through the market. I bought apple cider, apple juice, honey, chocolate, and two postcards. I brought home a jar of homemade rhubarb (from the farm) compote. I took photographs until my camera battery died. I did not use a computer or talk on the phone. I fantasized about what it might be like to live in the country. I took a scenic train ride back to Paris. And then I got on a crowded rush-hour metro car and my petite vacance was over.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading En Normandie at My View From Paris.

meta

