Morning in Montmartre

September 12, 2011 § 1 Comment

Église Saint-Laurent, Paris, 75010

I know I am repeating myself, but I love to go on long, early morning walks while the streets are still quiet and empty, the air is cool, the sky and the air are fresh, and the day is brand new. It is all about possibility. This time I walked up up up to Montmartre, and found myself alone! in front of Sacré Coeur.

La basilique du Sacré Coeur, Paris, 75018

I am always sort of surprised by Sacré Coeur and by Montmartre more generally. With the panoramic view over Paris, I feel as though I have left Paris, yet I am in one of its most popular and famous neighborhoods.

View of La tour Eiffel and surroundings from Montmartre, Paris, 75018

I suppose this feeling of in-between-ness is something that I bring, and not something inherent in the place, since I experience it at various times and in various places. It is not unpleasant. It is just a slight sense of displacement, or perhaps of misplacement, that ultimately makes me more alert to my surroundings and to myself, which is a good thing.

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Morning in Montmartre

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Morning in Montmartre at My View From Paris.

meta

